Restaurant Reviews

  • Food
    2
  • Service
    4
  • Value
    3
  • Ambiance
    3
Flag Post |  
Fleurichi Express Sushi
Fleurichi Express Sushi
Fleurichi Express Sushi
Fleurichi Express Sushi

Fleurichi Express Sushi

Reviewed by Fresnobites on Jun 10, 2011

What's it like?

Located on Shaw and Clovis in Fresno is a small drive-thru Sushi joint called Fleurichi Express Sushi. This used to be a coffee drive thru back in the day. The owners have done a very nice job sprucing up the place.

I was given a gift card after my first daughter was born and just got around to using it. We ordered a few rolls to use up the voucher. A lot of the rolls there are crab based, which we all know that means imitation. But imitation crab is typical of most sushi joints in our area.

They actually make the rolls very quickly, even inviting me to pull around to the window that allows you to view the process. The owners are very nice. It pains me to say that the sushi needs help. Hopefully they will understand the critics and make adjustments. The rice and imitation crab was fine but the fish placed on top needed CPR. The salmon and the tuna was very mushy and in need of life support. Typically mushy fish means either old or more than likely frozen and thawed. Not only that but the tempura batter on the shrimp within the roll was very soggy and cold.

Unfortunately this pretty much ruins the experience. Despite the owners being very friendly and fast, I just couldn't get past the fish. That for a sushi joint is simply not a good.

Comments

just a test image

jamescollier  |  Fri, 2011-06-10 20:37

I've wondered about this place for a while, but reading your review, Chuck, I'm glad I've stayed away. Thanks for going first :-)

This user has not uploaded a profile picture

Fresnobites  |  Fri, 2011-06-10 21:06

Sometimes the warning signs are flashing bright but I'm just too blind. They seem be holding on so maybe it was bad luck. Somehow I doubt that though.

This user has not uploaded a profile picture

JJJ (not verified)  |  Mon, 2011-06-13 22:58

Completely disagree. It's by far the best sushi in the area. I eat there every 5-6 weeks or so. Very cheap and giant rolls, and not giant rice rolls, but large quantities of fish.

That being said, I havent seen their "open" sign on in the last week.

This user has not uploaded a profile picture

Fresnobites  |  Tue, 2011-06-14 07:15

JJJ, I'm glad they have a fan with you because they were super nice people. But, for a brand new customer, they didn't give me a reason to go back. As you can see in the picture I posted, the fish on top of my roll was not fresh and was texturally like spicy tuna, mushy. This is not a good thing for sushi.

We ordered three rolls and they were all bad. This wasn't a fluke in our case.

Do yourself a favor and try Maroo on Bullard and West and then compare.

This user has not uploaded a profile picture

JJJ (not verified)  |  Tue, 2011-06-14 23:32

Im looking at the Maroo website, and it seems like their prices are almost twice as much. And I'd wager the rolls are smaller. I'd prefer not to pay so much to be less satisfied, even if the texture is slightly better.

just a test image

jamescollier  |  Wed, 2011-06-15 11:42

I don't think that's a fair comparison, especially if Maroo is using fresh (and unfrozen) fish to preserve texture. When it comes to the quality of fish, texture and smell are indicators of freshness, and I'll gladly pay more to know that I'm getting better quality of something that's going into my body uncooked.

Of course, Maroo also has to cover the dining space and wait staff, so I'd hope there's a price difference.

This user has not uploaded a profile picture

Fresnobites  |  Wed, 2011-06-15 17:22

The Shawn's roll at Maroo is $11.95. That's about $3-$4 dollars more for the roll as the Fleurichi was about $8.50. However, having tasted each, everything is better with the Maroo roll. From the rice to the tempura shrimp batter, and on to the salmon. There just isn't any comparison.

I guess if your in a pinch and have less $10 bucks it will satisfy your craving. Other people obviously are satisfied so I'll just leave it at that.

It is worth mentioning that you can get great lunch prices at Maroo and other places for less than $10. Oka is also another solid option.

This user has not uploaded a profile picture

JJJ (not verified)  |  Thu, 2011-06-16 00:51

Im just saying that when writing reviews, price needs to be taken into consideration.

Hypothetical situation:

Expensiveland sells the worlds best sushi at $50 a roll
Cheapland sells mediocre sushi at $1 a roll

Giving expensiveland a 5/5 and cheapland a 1/5 doesnt help anybody, because eating at expensiveland every week simply isnt an option. It may be fresher and more delicious in every way....but giving cheapland a 1/5 doesnt help when planning dinner.

Its like a website that reviews cameras. An 8/10 for a $199 camera doesnt mean it's better than a 7.5/10 for a $5,000 camera. It just means its a good camera in the price range.

So in this case, Fleurichi Express should be compared against other cheap sushi places, and not the best sushi in Fresno.

Id be interested in knowing if there are other places that offer such large rolls at such cheap prices in the area and give out tastier stuff. As mentioned previously, any location with a waiting staff will be at a disadvantage due to overhead.

just a test image

jamescollier  |  Thu, 2011-06-16 07:53

JJJ, price is taken into consideration - it's one of the reasons there are four axes for rating a restaurant.

One of those is "value," which accounts for price in relation to quality. Fresnobites rated two stars for food, but the overall value is marked with three - that tells me, as the reader, that I need something cheap and quick, this might work, but the review keeps my expectations low.

For the record, you drew the comparison between Fleurichi and Maroo. Who would you compare Fleurichi to? It's the only drive-through sushi spot I know of, so who's on the list of "cheap" sushi places? If I'm comparing a steak at different restaurants - cheap or otherwise - am I not discussing the meat? Why is that any different here?

Reviews of other restaurants are open to anyone - we'd welcome your insights on others.

This user has not uploaded a profile picture

JJJ (not verified)  |  Fri, 2011-06-24 23:19

Thats what Im asking, I dont know of other places that provide a similar kind of cheap and large, but not garbage, sushi in fresno. Doesnt have to be drive thru or event takeout.

This user has not uploaded a profile picture

Fresnobites  |  Thu, 2011-06-16 07:33

JJJ, Thanks for the dialogue. Just to clarify, I didn't pass judgement based on Fleurichi being a "cheap" place because I didn't really think it was cheap. I bought three rolls for $30. That isn't exactly HomeTown Buffet cheap.

Secondly, if Maroo or any other Sushi place either in Fresno or the finest sushi place in Japan ever served me soggy fish, I guarantee you that I would call them out on it. Fair is fair. Just read some of the reviews I've posted on my blog. I point out flaws and high points.

But overall this really isn't about comparing one place against another, it's the fact that on that day, the fish was soggy and the tempura shrimp batter was so thick and mushy I only ate 4 pieces off of 3 ENTIRE rolls. Hopefully the owners can take that criticism and make improvements to their product.

This user has not uploaded a profile picture

JJJ (not verified)  |  Fri, 2011-06-24 23:22

Perhaps future reviews could include more details on the price? I understand there's the value piece on the left, but that's even more subjective than "taste" in my opinion. Especially with sushi that can vary so widely.

Also id like to note that Ive never had soggy fish there, although yes, the quality varies based on the day. I guess that's a good thing? Only stuff from cans is the same day in and day out.

This user has not uploaded a profile picture

RL (not verified)  |  Fri, 2011-06-17 12:31

FWIW on price I ordered the happy hour sashimi from Daily Grill last night for $4.95. Best part was the ambiance was late 40 something divorcee golfer aftershave.

For "cheap" sushi how does Fluerici compare with say Roe at all you shouldn't eat for 20 bucks? Price point on Sushi is considerable when your 4 year old pounds 25 bucks worth of Nigiri and your 2 year old takes a single slobber bite out of every single piece before putting the rest back on the table for the rest of the adults to enjoy.

This user has not uploaded a profile picture

JJJ (not verified)  |  Fri, 2011-06-24 23:23

I havent had the Roe all you can eat, but I did have all-you-can eat sushi elsewhere in Fresno for $15 and it was 90% rice, 5% fish, 5% vegetables. What I enjoy about Fluerici is the fish-to-rice ratio.

just a test image

NerdMom  |  Sat, 2011-06-18 08:14

FresnoBites, thanks for the review. I have driven past there many times and wondered about trying it. Part of my curiosity is my over all curiosity over sushi and my cheap nature;). But if 1 of my 1st experiences was cheap and bad, it might turn me off forever.

FYI, part of the reason I never tried it was the idea of raw fish from a drive thru that I hadn't heard anything about;).

This user has not uploaded a profile picture

JJJ (not verified)  |  Fri, 2011-06-24 23:26

I was also hesitant the first time, but you can look inside while you wait, and the operation looks like any other sushi "kitchen".

As for where to have your first sushi experience...well, my first time was a prepackaged "to-go" container at a good court. Wasn't amazing, but didn't scare me off.

I started to love sushi in Brazil, where they have rodizio-style all you can eat. They start you off with a giant sushi boat so you can sample everything, and then you ask for what you want more of. All for $15. Hot stuff too, like filet mignon tepanyaki. Nom nom.

This user has not uploaded a profile picture

Fresnobites  |  Sat, 2011-06-18 09:01

If you haven't had sushi and are cost conscious which I'm being forced to get now with our first child, save your money and try some other options IMHO. Make your first experience one that brings you back. Oka, Maroo and Wassabi all make great sushi.

This user has not uploaded a profile picture

Anonymous (not verified)  |  Mon, 2013-03-04 23:41

I have been to this place a few times and I love it there. They even gave me a free sample of their sweet shrimp inari while I was waiting for my spring rolls. You get good sushi for the price. It isn't the best sushi I have ever had but neither is it the worst. And for less than $5 you can get 8 pieces of spicy california rolls, so I'm not complaining. I would highly recommend trying it.